Book Review: Where Rainbows End

Title: Where Rainbows End

Author: Cecelia Ahern

Genre: Romance

Pages: 566

Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers

Price in India: Rs. 299 (again, cheaper at e-stores)

Rating: 4.5/5

Favourite Lines: “I am not talking about being a millionaire and living happily ever after. I just mean reaching a point in my life that I can stop what I’m doing, take a look around me, breathe a sigh of relief and think: I’m where I want to be now.” (Page 347)

Review: I usually buy books over the internet. It is convenient and CHEAP. Because remember, we all have limits. And whenever I buy books, I filter all the romantic books from the list that appears on my computer screen. But this time around, I was walking form Forum Mall, Kolkata towards the metro, and i found this store. STORY! (I actually walked the opposite way. Blame my phone). And on going through the store, I came across this book. The beautiful cover caught my attention (which does not mean that I judge a book by it’s cover), and the synopsis was super cool. And so, I picked it up!

Where Rainbows End is a story about two best friends, each loving the other, but both of them do not have the power to confess their love to each other, and hence, end up marrying different people and having babies. It is only in the last few pages that Ahern unites Rosie and Alex in the bond of Love.

Though I have happened the read the book just now, it has been first published in 2004, and is still on the best-sellers list. Ahern’s prose(specially for a début) is highly commendable, and so is her crafty characterization. As far as the characters are concerned, Ruby has been one of my most favourite characters. Ahern has given her the most important task in a book. That is, the element of humour. Ruby is one woman in the whole book, who, no matter how tragic Rosie’s life may be at any point of time, she can make the readers laugh. The reader will want to cry in between Rosie and Ruby’s conversations, but Ruby’s wit holds the tears behind. Even Rosie and Alex have been carved out by Ahern with utmost care, delicacy and, of course, love. The relationship, love and bonding between these two characters is so intense, that it makes the reader long for a friend like the other.

Now coming to the narrative, I think it is the narrative that has almost all the power in a book. Even if the story is strong, delivering it in a wrong manner will not make the book worth buying, let alone being a best-seller. There is no direct conversation in the entire book. Everyone is just writing letters/mails/messages to everyone, but still, the bond between everyone is even stronger. When there are direct conversations, we can feel every emotion, but here, without direct conversation, with just letters/mails/messages, with just words, Ahern has beautifully expressed emotions. Much more beautifully than I could ever imagine. She has proved the power of just words.

Ahern has proved that words have this immense power. The power to create and diminish. Resume and Stop. Heal and Hurt. And Nullify. Her words are like the magic wand. One touch, and whoosh! Pumpkins turn into chariots, kisses wake people from death, beauty enhances and every dream changes into reality.

In Short, I would strongly recommend people to read it (though people would have already read it, still) because this book is worth every second you give to it, and such books are written only once in a long time.

Praise for Where Rainbows End: 

‘Brilliantly written, you’ll laugh and cry.’ Heat

P.S. I love Cecelia Ahern’s writing!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Where Rainbows End

  1. Well, this isn’t my type of genre, as you know and I mostly read classics, and the only exposure I’ve had to Cecilia Ahern is the movie ‘P.S. I love You’ that had the glorious Gerard Butler in it, but seeing as how I liked that movie, perhaps I’ll pick up this book when I’m in the mood for romance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not a word you said is unjustified. Although the book was written in 2004, the narration and the story is as refreshing as it can be. The book just makes you captivated.
    P.S. – I’ve already ordered few more of her works.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

