eleven

11 days too long, 11 days too short
11 days of “I don’t know”
And the smoothest, swiftest blow
To who I thought I was to you
Guess now I’ll never really know.

What are 11 days in a lifetime anyway
Not too long, never too short.
10 is a milestone, a heaviness earned
20 is seasoned and 100 infinite

But 11 was catching up, that awkward little child
Waiting for us to make up our minds.
But with every “I don’t know” the longer the line
And slowly he knew to forgive us

But then hope rekindled and breathless again was 11
He packed his bags and waited for us
11 days too long, 11 days too short

I know better than to mourn a love unfound
But 11 was ours
And we let him down.

img_3072

Leave a Reply

