Because I could not stop for Death, a retelling. 

Because I could not stop for Death-

He didn’t bother stoping for me. 

Who would have wanted me anyway?

My parents never cared

At least they never showed they cared 

My teachers didn’t notice me

My raised hand would always remain, unnoticed 

I didn’t have friends

They humiliated me, laughed at me. 

So why would Death need me anyway?

Why would Immortality and Eternity bind me- 

Within themselves? 

I saw the carriage pass by me

Mostly empty

Death had no passenger today

But the curse of death itself

I was scared 

I don’t know about what

I knew I wasn’t a passenger

No, I wasn’t going

At least not today 

I was wearing a silk saree

It flew in the wind 

On that one dark, empty night

I wondered if anything was emptier than empty

That was the night

The adjective for which I lack. 

Leave a Reply

