Vernacular(स)

Seldom do I like

To title my poems- 

Label them; 

For I want them to be open

To interpretations of all sorts

But not today. 

I’m primarily a writer in English

I’ve studied it all my life

Grown with it, in it

Never imagined myself-

Writing in another language 

Expressing in another. 

I always thought I’d fall short of words-

In Hindi, Urdu or Bengali

The other languages I know

And in fact I did-

But initially 

Only initially. 

Today when I write in Urdu

Not in Bengali, of course

I feel more content

More confident, more expressive 

I fall a little in love with myself

या यूँ, जैसे ख़ुद से मोहब्बत सी हो गई…

Leave a Reply

